Sharyland ISD History

Official Name: Sharyland Independent School District
Founded: 1921
Motto: “Commitment, Cooperation and Communication”

Communities Served: Sharyland, Mission, Alton, Palmhurst, Edinburg, and McAllen

Brief History: Sharyland is a large community in the Lower Rio Grande Valley situated between the cities of Mission and McAllen.  Before the 19th century, the area where Sharyland now stands was sparsely populated with ranching families, most of Mexican descent.  However, by the late 19thcentury and early 20thcentury “Anglo” land developers took an interest in many of the lands along the Rio Grande.  One such developer was John H. Shary, a native of Nebraska who visited the Rio Grande Valley in 1912.  Shary saw the potential for farming and citrus production and within a short time purchased thousands of acres of land which he named Sharyland.  Sharyland attracted farmers from the North and Midwest and became known for its citrus production.  Sharyland was also John Shary’s home until his death in 1945.
Sharyland Independent School District is named in honor of John H. Shary who was president of the district’s first board of trustees. Created in 1921, this twenty-six square-mile school district is located in Hidalgo County. The district is committed to providing the highest quality education possible for all students.
Public schools in Sharyland include: Jessie L. Jensen Elementary School, John H. Shary Elementary School, Lloyd and Dolly Bentsen Elementary School, Olivero Garza Sr. Elementary School, Romulo D. Martinez Elementary School, Ruben Hinojosa Elementary School, Donna Wernecke Elementary, Harry Shimotsu Elementary, BL Gray Junior High School, Sharyland North Junior High School, Sharyland Advanced Academic Academy, Sharyland High School and Sharyland Pioneer High School.